top of page
  • louisedalrymple7

DON McCULLIN

Updated: Dec 14, 2020


Acclaimed War photographer McCullin is currently showing a collection of over 200 photographs at the Tate Liverpool. The exhibition features a mixture of his work over the past 60 years.


Varying in content from photography of war torn Vietnam and Palestine to industrial scenes in Liverpool and other northern towns and cities during the 1960s and 70s.Naturally being from Liverpool I was drawn to Don's photographs of the Toxteth area.


The link I found to my work is the raw sense community that shines through.


I would love to incorporate Liverpool's history of rescilence into my work.




“I’ve been looking at the work I did in Liverpool in the early ‘60s and the ‘70s, and it’s quite depressing to look at it. There was a big slum clearance programme, which made the landscape look like Dresden during the war. It’s almost a war-like scene photographically, so I’ve got some interesting pictures. And, you know, some of the people in my pictures were little five-year-old children in the streets up in Huskisson street and around that area, and now they will be grown up people with possibly grandchildren now, you know? So, I’ve documented a part of the Liverpool history.” Don Mc Cullin






Quote taken from:


16 views0 comments
bottom of page