top of page
  • louisedalrymple7

MODULAR ACCORDION HOUSE ON THREE WHEELS

Updated: Mar 31, 2021


Many Chinese people can not afford to buy land to build a house in the huge, expensive and over-populated cities. Design studio People’s Architecture Office (PAO) came up with a solution — a mobile accordion house that can be taken everywhere by means of a bike.



  • I was researching into Accordion influenced design when I came across this article.


  • I like the shape and the idea of adaptable spaces.


  • Thinking about using this shape as inspiration for tunnels within my design connecting each separate room or spaces.







  • The walls are built from translucent foldable plastic that lets in the sunlight during the day and the light from the streets during the evening. This creates a light and cosy atmosphere inside the small house, while it disables passers-by to take a look from the outside in.


  • Really like this idea, wondering if I could incorporate this into my design. Maybe using two-way glass?



  • Fully equipped with an integrated sink, water tank, bathtub and stove.



Relevant Article:


bottom of page